What I’ve Learned from the Wedding Industry

393e195b37d308c79f6f69452eeba644via

The more I am immersed in this industry, the more epiphanies I have and the more lessons I learn. I’ve discovered things I never thought I would need to know and I’ve been able to apply the lessons I have learned in an effective way. As a way to share the wealth, so to speak, I’ve decided to share a few tidbits of information I’ve picked up along the way!

1. It’s Not All Glamour and Glitter. This is a thriving, hardcore industry with serious business people and lots of responsibilities. Yes, the fun part of working with weddings makes the job exciting and the sweet moments make it rewarding, but working in weddings does not mean all we do is daydream.

2. Check the Little Details. Check them all. Every. Last. One. Once, I got everyone all ready for a cake-cutting and champagne toast, but forgot to uncork the champagne. A friend of mine worked a wedding that included a piano that was never tuned, so the bride walked down the aisle to an off-key mess. Needless to say, these lessons have stuck with us and are some of the first things we check now, as well as other things you might not think about immediately.

3. Effective Communication Takes A Lot of Forms. Working with a variety of personalities and connections, from brides to vendors, you need to be able to quickly figure out how someone wants to receive communication, and then tailor your communication to them.

4. It’s OK to Play.ย With the details, that is!Sometimes brides have an idea but no plan, and sometimes there is a plan it just isn’t the best plan. If you can find the best way to do something, and explain how it’ll work effectively, don’t be afraid to speak up and offer differing ideas. While respecting the bride is important, they shouldn’t scare you.

5. Ask Every Question. Even if you feel like you’re giving the bride the most obnoxiously thorough grilling of her life, it’s ok. And necessary. You don’t want to end up in the thick of the big day with questions, so clear everything up early on.

I am lucky enough to be a part of one of the most important day in people’s lives! I’m having fun, no matter how stressful it can be at times, it is fun and exciting and new and great every day. I really do love this industry and I hope to keep growing and learning as much as I can. Hopefully my lessons can help you all grow too!

Leave a Reply

