Make it Happen

Screen Shot 2014-04-09 at 8.24.05 PM

I’ve been trying lately to plan out my content more, have a set schedule and develop posts in advance. Sometimes though, you just have to write more organically and get your thoughts out.

I’m writing this as I sit in an LSAT Practice Test review session (we’re on break, don’t worry! I promise I’m paying attention!)

I got into a discussion with a friend today about Adobe Creative Suite. We both lamented about how we wish we were more proficient in programs like Photoshop and Dreamweaver. I had heard about a website that has tutorials for almost anything you want to learn, from Adobe to photography, you just have to pay a membership fee. I told my friend that I would love to learn more about stuff like that, and I’m even fine with paying for lessons. My problem with taking this on right now is time. Between LSAT prep, a part-time job, an internship, and a full course load, my free time is basically reserved for sleep and food.

This discussion got me thinking, though, what else would I do if I had more time?

If I had more time to do what I want to do, I would:

  • become more skilled in InDesign and learn Photoshop and Dreamweaver
  • teach myself photography
  • build up my blog more
  • read more, and write more
  • develop recipes and cook more exciting things
  • take more barre method classes and learn yoga
  • earn my personal trainer certification
  • volunteer more often
  • plant fruit, veggie and herb gardens at my house
  • get my CHL
  • DIY all kinds of things around my house
  • help J rebuild his old Mustang (and learn how cars work)

These are all things I’ve caught myself saying I want to learn when I “get more time” or “when things slow down,” but I realize I’m kidding myself. I don’t really slow down, and I will never have all of the time I want to do all the things I want. Instead of planning on imaginary “somedays,” I need to make every day its own little someday. If I really want these things, I have to fit them in to my crazy schedule and just make it happen, no matter how long it takes.

Leave a Reply

