Lunch with a Lawyer

Last week, I met up with a woman I met at my summer internship for lunch and to talk about my future in law. Charlene Wandrisco is a legal director at Forest Park Medical Center, and she was nice enough to take the time out to answer some questions and give me some insight into the future I am headed toward.

I will admit that I had a little bit of a panic attack earlier in the week about whether law school was the right choice for me. I wasn’t sure if my heart was in it, I couldn’t focus on my preparations the way I normally focus on things, and I worried about the costs associated with law school and whether they would be worth it in the long run.

As the week went on, I calmed down and was able to re-focus. I soon realized that I just needed a bit of encouragement; this process is something I can’t bear all on my own.

So when I met with Charlene, I had several questions about her decisions, her experiences, and her thoughts on the whole process. She had some surprising comments and not-so-surprising advice, but I took away a few key things that I am very grateful to have gleaned.

  • The LSAT is never going to be any less painful; I need to prioritize it. Even with my other courses, I just need to make it happen.
  • In my first year, I should focus primarily on keeping grades as high as possible. The people with good grades get the best summer jobs, and those summer jobs can turn into the best post-school jobs.
  • The thought of a “Bar Trip” is beyond exciting, but I’m even more excited to have a whole summer off between leaving law school and entering the real world.
  • Transactional Law is the way to go (Glad I’m on the right track!)
  • Location/Market vs. Learning Atmosphere is going to be a hard decision.
  • Whether I do stick with public relations or continue with law, my future will likely contain lots of late nights, working over weekends, and dealing with things that the “important” people don’t want to deal with.
  • It’s not easy, but it’s definitely doable. And Lord knows I’m not going to let something silly stop me.
Leave a Reply

